About MSIS

The Society

Founded in 1989, the MusculoSkeletal Infection Society is a multidisciplinary educational and scientific forum for the advancement of knowledge in the field of musculoskeletal infection, for the education of the patient, the clinician and the researcher, and for the promotion of professional standards to guide patient care.

Our Mission

To advance knowledge in the field of study of musculoskeletal infection and its treatment by:

  • Education of the clinician and research members
  • Education of the medical community and the general public
  • Promotion and maintenance of professional standards in order to provide the best professional care to patients with musculoskeletal infection

Annual Meetings

The MusculoSkeletal Infection Society holds an annual open scientific meeting each summer. The meeting format is 1½ days, Friday and Saturday, in early August. Content includes Interactive Symposia by recognized experts on current topics related to clinical practice, research and education in the field of Musculoskeletal Infection. Current research papers are presented.

Executive Board

The Executive Board of MSIS consists of President, Vice-President, Secretary-Treasurer, Member-at-Large, Past-President and Second Past-President. Executives serve one year terms starting at the Annual Scientific Meeting in August, except the Sercretary-Treasurer, who serves a multi-year term. Succession on the Executive Board provides continuity to the society.

Past Presidents

2012 Javad Parvizi MD, Philadelphia PA
2011 Arvind Nana MD Fortworth, TX
2010 Elli Berbari MD, Rochester MN
2009 Charalampos Zalavras MD PhD, Los Angeles CA
2008 John Esterhai MD, Philadelphia PA
2007 Doug Osmon MD, Rochesert MN
2006 George Cierny III MD, San Diego CA
2005 M Danny Wongwarawat, Loma Linda CA
2004 J Robert Cantey, Charleston SC
2003 Nalini Rao MD, Pittsburgh PA
2002 Alex C McLaren MD, Phoenix AZ
2001 Stephen B Schnall MD, Los Angeles CA
2000 Paul D Holtom MD, Los Angeles CA
1999 George Cierny III MD, Atlanta GA
1998 Jack L LeFrock MD, Sarasota FL
1997 John L Esterhai Jr MD, Philadelphia PA
1996 Arlen D Hanssen MD, Rochester MN
1995 Richard P Evans MD, Denver CO
1994 Jon T Mader MD, Galveston TX
1993 Michael Patzakis MD Los Angles CA
1992 Carl L Nelson MD, Little Rock AR
1991 Jason Calhoun MD, Galveston TX
1990 John D Blaha MD, Morgantown WV
1989 David Seligson MD, Louisville KY